If only they could see things from my perspectives …

Ankoma Angela
3 min readMay 1, 2024

During the first week of reopening, I had open conversations with my students.

One of them said, “Angie, your standards are too high.”

This student is one of the best students in the class. I asked the entire class if they agreed with her. Everybody in the class said yes.

I asked myself, “Is it really about standards?”

These students are not used to being stretched to their limits so my approach is quite new to them.

But over the past seven months, I have learnt that there is so much in these young souls. They only need to be watered so that they can bloom.

Photo by Yoksel 🌿 Zok on Unsplash

I need to be soft sometimes, but I need to be difficult most of the time.

Gradually, they will understand that these standards are not high. They are just not used to them.

This Saturday, while I was on a video call with my friend, an unknown number called. I didn’t even give my friend a heads-up before dropping her call.

Unknown number: Good afternoon, Madam.

Me: Good morning (It was 11:48 am). Please, how are you doing?

Unknown number: I am doing well. You, please?

Me: I am fine by God’s grace.

Unknown number: My child said you gave them a homework to write a formal letter. I called to find out about how we will write the recipient’s address.

Me: I told them that the first thing to write is the position of the person in charge of whatever department or company mentioned in the question. After that, they will write the name of the department or company mentioned. That is the only new thing added to their previous knowledge. They know the rest.

Unknown number: Thank you very much, Madam. Also, during our time, we used to write the sender’s address at the top right corner of the sheet. Is it wrong? My child was telling me you told them it can be written at the top left corner of the sheet.

Me: Oh no. It is not wrong. English Language is dynamic. You can write the sender’s address either at the top right corner or top left corner. They are all accepted.

Unknown number: I am very grateful for the explanation and your time. It was a pleasure speaking with you, Madam.

Me: Don’t mention it. Please, may I know your name and that of your ward?

Unknown number: You can call me Uncle Ebo. My ward says I shouldn’t mention her name. Even when I told her I will call you, she said, “Angie will not be happy that I made my father call her to explain a homework.”

Me: Oh I see. These kids! (I laughed.)

Unknown number: I must say it was a great pleasure speaking with you. You are a nice person.

I am glad this parent called because he has gotten to know me better.

After the call, I went back to call my friend.

I told her about my conversation with this parent.

She said, “Angie, you won’t beat these students but your facial expression is even serious.”

We laughed about it and continued our conversation.

What advice would you give me as a teacher who wants the best for her students?

--

--

Ankoma Angela

I am an English Language Teacher during the day, a detail-oriented proofreader at night and God’s scribe at all times.